National Volleyball Premier League: Customs, NSCDC Emerge 2019 Champions

The Nigeria Customs Service retained their men’s title while NSCDC were crowned women’s champions in the just concluded 2019 National Volleyball Premier League in Abuja.

Both sides have now qualified to represent Nigeria on the continent next year.

Although the Customs team fell to a 2-3 (25-21, 18-25, 25-22, 22-25, 9-15) defeat to NSCDC on the final day of the season, their 30 points haul outstripped their nearest rivals and proved enough to retain their title.

NSCDC finished in second place six points behind the champions with Kano Pillars a point further back in third position after they beat Nigeria Police Force who finished in fourth place with 22 points.

Nigeria Immigrations Service came fifth with 19 points while UCEM of Enugu placed sixth with 2 points.

In the women’s category, NSCDC outclassed defending champions Nigeria Customs 3-0 (25-19, 25-23, 25-18) to dethrone them as champions.

The NSCDC ladies emerged champions with 32 points followed by Customs who finished second with 28 points, Nigeria Army were third with 30 points while Nigeria Immigrations Service (10 points), Kada Emeralds (9 points) and Benue Queens (3 points) finished in fourth, fifth and sixth place respectively.

Captain of the NCS men’s champions Sunny Akapson said his side kept their promise of retaining the title and said they’ll now focus on ensuring a creditable performance when they compete in the continental club championship next year.

“We promised to win the title at the end of the tournaments and we have done that all thanks to the Nigeria Customs service for their support,” he said.

“We are now going to shift all our attention to the continental club championship coming up next year and we promised to do the nation proud.”

The National Volleyball Premier League which started on 21 November ended on Saturday at the Indoor Sports Hall, Package B of the Moshood Abiola Stadium in Abuja.

Teams that competed in the men’s league include Nigeria Custom Service (NCS), Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Nigeria Police, Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), Kano Pillars, Plateau Rocks, UCEM and Famous Spiders.

NCS, NSCDC, NIS, COAS Army, Benue Queens, Delta Force and Kada Emeralds competed in the women’s category.