Nigeria Women Premier League Partners La Liga on Return, Takes New Format

The Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) will finally commence on the 17th of July after a 5-months hiatus, howbeit, in an abridged format according to a communique released after the 2018/2019 NWPL Annual General Meeting (AGM). 

According to the communique,  the decision to employ an abridged format for the league in the 2018/2019 season was due to the protracted delay in the commencement of the new season and the need to consolidate on time lost. 

Twelve teams were drawn into four groups apiece. The winners of each group will compete in a super Four playoffs at the end of the season to determine the winner of the 2018/2019 NWPL.  

In a bid to develop the status of the League, NWPL Chairperson revealed that the winners of the 2018/2019 NWPL title will be flown to Spain for an arranged international tournament based on a bilateral agreement between organisers of the League and La Liga. 

Also, the last teams of each of the groups will also compete in a playoff at the end of the season to determine the two teams to be relegated to the Pro-league. 

The AGM held at FCT, Abuja had in attendance the President of the Nigeria Football Federation represented by the 2nd vice president of the NFF, Mallam Shehu Dikko. 

NFF Chairman of chairmen, Alh. Ibrahim Gusau and a few state FA chairmen were present at the AGM. 

Bayelsa Queens emerged champions of the last NWPL season and are drawn in Group C alongside Sunshine Queens,  Nassarawa Amazons, and Jokolodu Babes.

2018/2019 Nigeria Women Premier League Table,  by Group

Group AGroup B
Rivers AngelsDreamstars Ladies
Osun BabesHeartland Queens
Delta QueensAdamawa Queens
FC RoboEdo Queens
Group CGroup D
Bayelsa QueensConfluence Queens
Sunshine QueensAbia Angels
Nasarawa AmazonsInvincible Angels
Jokodolou BabesIbom Angels