Sports Ministry Dissolves Boards Of 31 National Olympic Sports Federations

Sunday Dare

The Federal Ministry of Sports on Friday announced the dissolution of all boards of Nigeria’s 31 National Sports Federation with immediate effect and constituted three-man Caretaker Committees to run the federations.

A statement by sports minster Sunday Dare said the move is to pave way for fresh elections with the boards having completed their four-year mandates.

“In keeping with the Olympic Charter which stipulates a 4 year tenure for all Sports Federations Boards, the tenure of the National Olympic Sports Federations in Nigeria have come to an end. There is a need for a transition from the old Boards to the new one,” Dare said in the statement.

“Having run a full Olympic cycle, the Boards of the NSFs inaugurated on 21 June, 2017 are hereby dissolved to pave way for fresh elections,” he added.

New caretaker boards have been announced until elections are held, however, the presidents of all but three federations have been retained to oversee the caretaker committees.

The Athletics Federation of Nigeria will now be led by Olumide George with Ibrahim Gusau shunted aside, the Judo Federation will now be led by Brig. Gen. Z.L. Abubakar and Emeka Mbagwu has been replaced with Comrade Iyorcha Grace at the Nigeria Rugby Football Federation.