Eunisell Boot: NPFL Hotshot Nwankwo Hails Sponsors For Rewarding Joint-Top Scorers (AUDIO)

Nasarawa United striker Silas Nwankwo has commended Eunisel, sponsors of the NPFL Golden Boot Award, for honouring him and former Akwa United goal poacher Charles Atshimene.

Nwankwo and Atshimene – who is now with Portuguese side CD Feirense – scored 19 goals in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) last season to emerge joint top scorers, though the Nasarawa United marksman would have edged the ex-Akwa United striker on NPFL rules, having scored fewer penalties.

However, the chemical and energy outfit Eunisell last week announced that both players will get the top award.

Eunisell values each goal scored by the top scorer at N200, 000.

In addition to prize money of N3.8m each for the 19 goals they scored, the players will also be presented with the prestigious Eunisell Boot for their efforts.

In an interview with, Nwankwo said Eunisell have made the ‘best’ decision by honouring both strikers, who took the NPFL by storm last season.

“First of all, they (Eunisell) did the very best thing by honouring two of us,” he said. “We both tried last season, scoring 19 goals each. It’s not a small achievement for both of us.

“It’s going to be very sad for me to understand that one was given and the other was not given (the award) because I really want the progress of every Nigerian footballer in this country.

“I feel great about it. I’m happy. I couldn’t even sleep when I first heard the news.

The former Sunshine Stars striker added: “They’ve been doing great. They shouldn’t stop.

“Yes, I am very privileged to be one of the winners. A lot of Nigerian league players will actually get it if they don’t stop.

“They are doing one of the best things I least expected anybody or any company to do. They are doing great. They are the front runners.”

It is the second time the Eunisell Boot will be handed to two players. In 2019, legendary NPFL striker Mfon Udoh (Akwa United) and Ibrahim Sunusi (Nasarawa United) both got their award, after finishing the abridged season with 10 goals apiece.