Barcelona Win 13th Super Cup Title With Comeback Victory Over Sevilla

Barcelona have won their 13th Spanish Super Cup title following the 2-1 comeback win they recorded against Sevilla at Stade de Tanger in Morocco.

This year’s Spanish Super Cup format was different from the one obtainable in previous years with the two teams contesting for the title in a one-off game rather than over two legs.

Sevilla took a surprise lead as early as the ninth minute through Pablo Sarabia and thereafter kept the Spanish champions at bay until recently retired international Gerard Pique levelled proceedings for his team with three first half minutes remaining.

That was how it stayed until French forward Ousmane Dembele capitalised on the good work from star man Lionel Messi to give Barcelona the lead for the first time in the game.

Sevilla had the chance to force extra time in the closing stages but Wissem Ben Yedder fluffed his lines from the penalty spot.

The win takes Barcelona’s Spanish Super Cup title to 13 as they extend their lead over arch rivals Real Madrid.

The five-time European champions had previously won the Spanish Super Cup during the 1983/84, 1991/92, 1992/93, 1994/95, 1996/97, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2009/10, 2010/11, 2011/12, 2013/14 and 2016/17 seasons.

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi also became the most decorated player in the club’s history after the team’s captain won his 33rd trophy to move ahead of club legend Andres Iniesta.