Bayern Thrash Frankfurt To Win German Super Cup

Bayern Munich have won the German Super Cup for a third successive season after the Bundesliga champions thrashed Eintracht Frankfurt 5-0 on Sunday night.

Star striker Robert Lewandowski struck twice in five minutes to give the five-time European champions a 2-0 lead at halftime.

He completed his treble with nine second half minutes on the clock off an assist from German international forward Thomas Mueller.

Substitute Kingsley Coman added a fourth goal nine minutes later before Spanish midfielder Thiago Alcantara rounded off the convincing victory five minutes from time.

Bayern Munich have now won the German Super Cup for the third season running and also avenged last season’s defeat to German Cup champions Eintracht Frankfurt.

Croatian World Cup star Ante Rebic scored twice to help Frankfurt to a 3-1 win over Bayern Munich in the German Cup final last season.