Super Falcons Head Coach Releases Final Squad List For AWCON 2018

Super Falcons Head Coach Thomas Dennerby has released a list of 21 players who will represent Nigeria at the 11th Africa Women Cup of Nations finals in Ghana from 17 November to 1 December.

The eight –time champions, had travelled to Sol Beni, Abidjan (academy of 1998 African champions ASEC Mimosas FC) with a squad of 23 players for the final phase of camping. The team which has now been whittled down to 21 after the duo of Ugochi Emenayo and Ogonna Chukwudi were dropped, will depart for Ghana on Wednesday, 14th November at the end of their eight day stay in Abidjan.

Nigeria take on South Africa on November 18, before matches against Zambia and Kenya in Cape Coast in the tournament which also doubles as qualifiers for the 2019 World Cup in France.

Hosts Ghana, Algeria, Mali and Cameroon will battle things out in Group A in Accra.


Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); ChiamakaNnadozie (Rivers Angels).

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden).

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (BiikKazygurt, Kazakhstan).