NPFL: Kwara Utd Stay Top As Dakkada Put Four Past Rivers Utd

Debutant Musa Basiru scored a brace as Dakkada FC ensured Rivers United let in four goals for the second straight away game.

Emmanuel Charles put Dakkada ahead in Uyo before the visitors seized the initiative with Nelson Esor equalising and then giving them the lead on the stroke of halftime only for Basiru to level matters for the hosts with the last kick of the first period.

Basiru completed his brace in the 64th-minute and Charles Ekong made sure of the points twelve minutes later to lift Dakkada to 8th, one spot behind Rivers United.

Meanwhile, second half goals from Samuel Ganda and Michael Ohanu ensured Kwara United remain top of the log with a 2-0 win against Nasarawa United in Ilorin.

The win was Kwara United’s third on the bounce and takes them to 36 points after 19 games. Sixth-placed Nasarawa United have now failed to keep a clean sheet in three straight games after keeping shutouts in three games prior.

Kano Pillars required yet another penalty to see off struggling Warri Wolves in Kaduna with veteran midfielder Rabiu Ali converting the decisive kick to lift Pillars level with leaders Kwara United.

Elsewhere, substitute Chinonso Okonkwo scored twice in six minutes to turn the game around for ninth-placed Lobi Stars as they came from behind to beat Jigawa Golden Stars 2-1 in Makurdi.

Golden Stars had drawn their last two away from home and looked ready to claim more points on the road after Ibrahim Umar gave them a 21st-minute lead.

But Okonkwo joined the foray at half time and promptly engineered a turn around with goals in the 52nd and 58th minutes.

Manu Garba scored a brace as Wikki Tourists beat relegation-threatened Katsina United 3-1 and Kelechi Ogor had a late goal ruled out as MFM were held at home by second-from-bottom FC Ifeanyiubah.

2020-2021 NPFL MD19 Results

Saturday 3rd April

Sunshine Stars 0-0 Akwa United

Sunday 4th April

MFM 1-1 FC IfeanyiubahLobi Stars 2-1 Jigawa Golden StarsDakkada 4-2 Rivers UnitedKwara Utd 2-0 Nasarawa UnitedWikki Tourists 3-1 Katsina UnitedKano Pillars 1-0 Warri Wolves