Abuja to Host FIFA Women World Cup Trophy in April

Abuja to Host FIFA Women World Cup Trophy

Nigeria’s State Capital Abuja will host the FIFA Women World Cup Trophy in April as the Trophy began a tour of 24 countries yesterday February 24 ahead of the 2019 FIFA Women World Cup in France.

FIFA legends Kristine Lilly and Laura Georges were on hand as the Trophy tour kicked off in Paris where the opening game of the tournament will be played in June.

The Trophy will next head for Jamaica before reaching  Chile, Argentina, Brazil, USA, Republic of Korea, Japan, China, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, South Africa, Cameroon and then Nigeria.

Nigeria have been at all editions of the World tournament since its inception in 1991 but are yet to win a single edition despite dominating Africa where the Super Falcons have ended champions or a record eleven times.

The Trophy will arrive Nigeria on April 11 and will then move to Norway, Germany, Italy, England, Scotland, The Netherlands, Spain, and Canada before returning to France in May.

Engraved underneath the base of the trophy which was designed by William Sawaya for the 1999 tournament are names of previous FIFA Women’s World Cup winners.

United States of America have lifted the trophy for a record three times while Germany won consecutive editions in 2003 and 2007. Japan and Norway have won one apiece.

The eight edition of the competition commences on the 7th of June, 2019 and will reach its crescendo one month after.  

Super Falcons of Nigeria are in Group A alongside host nation France, 1995 Winners Norway, and Korea Republic.