2021 AFCON: Super Eagles Arrive Lesotho For Crocodiles Clash

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have arrived Lesotho for the Group L 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against the Crocodiles slated for Sunday, 17 November.

The Nigerian contingent departed Nigeria via the Akwa Ibom International Airport for Lesotho in the early hours of Saturday and arrived Moshoeshoe International Airport, Lesotho by 1:40pm local time after a brief layover in Angola.

The team proceeded to their Avani Lesotho hotel base and are expected to hold their first official training session at the match venue – Maseru-Setsoto Stadium – at 7pm Lesotho time (6pm in Nigeria) on Saturday.

Nigeria lead Group L after they started their campaign for a ticket to Cameroon with a come from behind 2-1 victory over the Benin Republic through goals from Victor Osimhen (from the spot) and a virtuoso effort from Samuel Kalu at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo, on Wednesday, 13 November.

Lesotho earned a hugely creditable draw away at Sierra Leone on the same day, scoring in second-half added time to ensure a share of the spoils. 

Sunday’s encounter between the Super Eagles and the Crocodiles will be the third between both countries in AFCON qualifying with Nigeria emerging victorious in two previous ties.

The Super Eagles beat Lesotho 1-0 in Maseru on 7 October 2006 and then earned a 2-0 win in the return leg on 8 September 2007 during qualifying for the 2008 AFCON in Ghana.

The encounter at the Maseru-Setsoto Stadium is expected to kick off at 5pm Nigeria time. Benin host Sierra Leone in the other match in Group L.

Team doctor Ibrahim Gyaran confirmed to thenff.com that there are no injuries within the 23–man playing body.  

The Confederation of African Football has named 41–year old Botswanan official, Joshua Bondo as the referee, with Bondo’s compatriots Meshack Medupi, Mogomotsi Morakile and Tshepo Mokani Gobagoba as assistant referee 1, assistant referee 2 and fourth official respectively.

Johannes Jakob Vries from Namibia will serve as match commissioner while South African Carlos Henriques will be referee assessor.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Ifeanyi Anaemena (Enyimba, Nigeria)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)