Squad On A Mission! South Africa Unveil 26-Man List For Senegal World Cup Double Header

Bafana Bafana of South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has released a 26-man list of players for the two 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying games against Senegal.

The first match is slated for Friday, November 10, 2017 at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane with kick-off at 19h00 local time while the second game will take place on Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at Stade Leopold Sedar Senghor with a 21h30 (South African time) kick-off.

Baxter has called up midfielders Bongani Zungu and Andile Jali as part of the 26-man despite their respective disciplinary situation.

Jali is suspended for the first game as he has to serve a one-match ban after collecting two yellow cards in the qualifiers. He will return for the second game in Dakar.

On the other hand, Zungu has a pending FIFA Disciplinary case which would be decided on November 1. This is related to the red card he received during the last qualifier against Burkina Faso.

Speaking on his team, Baxter said:

“In an ideal world I would love to have all the players available for every match but we know it is not possible. In Zungu’s case we will await the outcome of sitting but we have a job to do, and if you thought playing Burkina Faso was a world cup final, I can tell you now that playing Senegal is much more important than that.”

“We have only one option – to win the remaining two games and book our ticket to Russia. Everyone, myself, the players, the Association, media and the public – is well aware that anything less than victory in both matches will be curtains for our world cup aspirations. We did well against Burkina Faso, so we have to keep on believing that is it is very much possible to qualify. The good thing is that it is all in our hands.” he added.

South Africa trail Senegal by four points ahead of the double header and will need maximum points from the games to qualify for next year’s World Cup in Russia.

Full Squad:


  1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  2. Wayne SANDILANDS Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
  3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)


  1. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
  2. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)
  3. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (FC)
  4. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  5. Morgan GOULD Supersport United (SA)
  6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO (C) Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
  7. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  8. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)


  1. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  2. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
  3. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier (France)
  4. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
  5. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
  6. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  7. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  8. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens SC (France)
  9. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse (Holland)
  10. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (EGYPT)
  11. Lebogang MANYAMA Konyaspor FC Turkey)
  12. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


  1. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  2. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
  3. Dino NDLOVU Fk Qarabag (Azerbaijan)