Cricket: Maiden National U17 Cricket Championship Serves Off Across Nigeria

Zonal qualifier games for the maiden edition of the PwC National U-17 Cricket Championship commenced yesterday Thursday, August 22nd across designated centres in the six geopolitical zones of the country. 

According to the Nigeria Cricket Federation, the PwC U17 Championship is organized to provide a pathway for male and female cricketers from age-grade level to the national team.

Nineteen (19) teams are expected to participate in the qualifiers.

Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Edo, and Rivers states are expected to converge in Rivers State for the South-South eliminations while Enugu will host Anambra, Ebonyi and Imo states in the South-East as Oyo hosts Ekiti, Lagos, Oyo, Ogun and Osun States in the South-West elimination series.

Kogi, Kwara and Niger states are scheduled to gather in FCT for the North-Central elimination series while Jigawa and Kaduna states battle for the North-West ticket in Kaduna.

Female teams from the participating states arrived the different designated centres on Thursday and will battle until August 26th for a place in the Championship Finals.

Meanwhile, the male cricket teams representing the 19 states are expected to have arrived on or before Thursday 28th August.

The Zonal Qualifiers will reach a climax on the 2nd of September as Champions from each zones participating in the Qualifiers will compete at the National Finals scheduled to hold in Abuja from 19th to 29th September 2019.