Six Teams Set For National Women’s Rugby Tournament

The Nigeria Rugby Football Federation (NRFF) has announced a list of six teams for the National Women’s Rugby Tournament billed for Kings College, Lagos Island on 10 February, 2019.

The invited teams include Delta Rugby Club, Police Rugby Club, Edo Rugby Club, Abia Rugby Club, Gosar Rugby Club, and ECO II Rugby Club.

The tournament which is slated to start by 2 pm will serve a means to select players to represent Nigeria at the Las Vegas Invitational 7s.

The Las Vegas Invitational is the largest rugby tournament in North America and will hold between 28 February and 2 March 2019. It is considered the premier amateur event in the USA and features club teams, select sides and national teams from around the world.

More than 275 teams competed in 2018 and that number is expected to grow for 2019.