Salah Beats KDB, Kane To PFA Player Of The Year Award

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has won the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year award for the 2017-18 season.

The Egyptian was named the award recipient at the PFA Gala Night ahead of other Premier League stars like Kevin de Bruyne (KDB), Harry Kane, Leroy Sane, David Silva and David de Gea.

Manchester City’s Leroy Sane saw off Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, teammate Raheem Sterling and others to win the Young Player of the Year award while Chelsea’s Fran Kirby won the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Lauren Hemp of Bristol City was named Women’s Young Player of the Year.

On winning the award, Salah was overjoyed as he said: “It’s an honour and especially as it’s voted by the players. I am happy and proud.”

“I didn’t have my chance at Chelsea. It was clear I would return and show everyone my football. I think I left and came back a different person, man and player. I am happy and proud.” he added.

Salah’s manager Jurgen Klopp said he was “happy to have the opportunity” of being Salah’s manager and further stated that it was an “unbelievable honour” to win the award.

Klopp said: “It’s been a fantastic ride but we still have games to go,” Klopp said. “But please grab the trophy and come home. We play on Tuesday!”

Former West Brom and England forward Cyrille Regis, who died in January at the age of 59, emerged the PFA’s merit award recipient during the gala night held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Former England captain Casey Stoney, who announced his retirement earlier this year, was given the PFA Special Achievement award.