CAF CC: Enyimba, Rangers To Discover Group Stage Opponents On 12 November

Nigeria’s representatives in the 2019/2020 CAF Confederation Cup Enyimba FC and Enugu Rangers will have to wait till Tuesday 12, November to discover their group stage opponents after CAF postponed Sunday’s draws.

A statement by the continental football governing body announced that group stage draws originally scheduled for Sunday, 10 November would now hold next Tuesday by 12pm Egyptian time (11am in Nigeria) at the CAF headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

Enyimba qualified for the group stage for the third time in their history with a 4-1 aggregate win over South African first division side TS Galaxy who they beat home and away while Rangers beat Togolese champions 1-0 in the second leg of their playoff tie to qualify 2-2 on away goals.

Both teams will join fourteen other qualified teams in the pot for the group stage draws as they bid to become the first Nigerian side to lift the trophy in its current guise.

All sixteen qualified teams will be divided into four groups of four teams each for the group phase of the second-tier club championship.

The seeded draw will divide the 16 survivors from three qualifying rounds into four groups with the winners and runners-up progressing to the quarter-finals.

Horoya (Guinea), Renaissance Berkane (Morocco), twice African champions Enyimba (Nigeria) and Al Masry (Egypt) are the top seeds, based on results in the past five CAF seasons.

Hassania Agadir (Morocco), Zanaco (Zambia), Enugu Rangers (Nigeria) and Djoliba (Mali) are the second seeds.

The unseeded clubs include Paradou (Algeria), ESAE (Benin), Daring Club Motema Pembe (Democratic Republic of Congo), Pyramids (Egypt), San Pedro (Ivory Coast), Al Nasr (Libya), Nouadhibou (Mauritania) and Bidvest Wits (South Africa).

Horoya, Enugu and Motema Pembe are former winners of the now defunct African Cup Winners Cup.

Group fixtures will be confined to Sundays with the first series on December 1 followed by December 8 and 29, February 16 and 23 and March 8.