AFCON Winners: Will South Africa Be Number 8 On The Trot?

By Dr. Mumini Alao

The last seven Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) have been won by seven different countries: 2010 Egypt; 2012 Zambia; 2013 Nigeria; 2015 Côte d’Ivoire; 2017 Cameroun; 2019 Algeria; 2021 Senegal. Will South Africa be the EIGHTH straight different winner at the ongoing 2023 edition in Côte d’Ivoire?

That question gained validity following Bafana Bafana’s sterling performance in eliminating Morocco, Africa’s highest-ranked team, in the Round of 16. If they could beat the best in Africa, perhaps they could become the best in Africa.

Bafana Bafana pray for AFCON 2023 success during a training session

Let’s look at some Bafana credentials. Nine members of the squad are from local club Mamelodi Sundowns which gives them the cohesiveness that is evident in their play. Sundowns have been very competitive in CAF club competitions which gives Bafana the needed experience to play on the continent.

This post was originally published on this site