Russia 2018: Four France Players Named In Team Of The Tournament

Four France players have been named in the official team of the tournament for the just concluded FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Tottenham Hotspur goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, Real Madrid defender Raphael Varane, Atletico Madrid forward Antoine Griezmann and Paris Saint Germain (PSG) forward Kylian Mbappe were all influential as they helped France to a second World Cup title.

They were rewarded with their respective spots on the team of the tournament alongside two Croatian players, two Brazilian stars, two English players and a Belgium star.

The duo of Luka Modric (Real Madrid) and Dejan Lovren (Liverpool) became Croatian football legends following their contributions to the team’s run to the World Cup final and were rewarded with spots on the team.

Belgium captain Eden Hazard (Chelsea) takes his place after the influential role he played in leading his side to third position.

Two Brazilians namely Neymar (PSG) and Paulinho (Guangzhou Evergrande) also made the list despite the fact that five-time Champions Brazil were eliminated in the quarterfinals.

The fullback English duo of Ashley Young (Manchester United) and Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur) complete the list after their contributions to England’s fourth place finish at the tournament in Russia.

It was the Three Lions’ best result since they were fourth at the 1990 World Cup in Italy.