Official – CAF Announce AFCON 2019 Qualifying Format

The trophy is handed over by a tribal chief ©Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix

The Confederation of African Football (CAF), have officially annouce the qualifying format for 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

According to African football writer, Lotfi Wada, who tweeted a picture of CAF’s press release, the qualifying round for AFCON 2019 will see 12 group winners, alongside 11 runners up make it to the continental tournament which will be hosed by defending champions, Cameroon.

After the CAF symposium in Rabat, Morocco, in July, CAF executive members changed the AFCON from a 16 team tourney to 24 teams, which will now be played in June-July instead of the previous January-February.