NWPL Super Four draw set for Wednesday

The Nigeria Women Football League board has announced that the draw for the 2017 Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) Super Four will hold on Wednesday 16 August at Protea Hotel in Ikeja, Lagos.

Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens and Nasarawa Amazons are the teams to participate in the draw having qualified for the Super Four following an intense regular season which ended on 2 August.

As stated on the league’s official website, nwfl.ng.com, the draw will be supervised by the NWFL Chief Operating Officer Ayo Abdulrahman and other members of the board. It was also added that a bowl/pot containing four balls will be used as no teams will be seeded.

The champions of the 2016/17 Nigeria Women Premier League will be crowned at the end of the Super Four. An official date for the commencement of the season-ending event is yet to be announced but the chairperson of the NWFL board, Aisha Falode disclosed early this month that it would take centre stage next month.