NOC To Inaugurate Nine Commissions In Lagos

The Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) has announced that it will formally inaugurate all nine Commissions that have been set up to ensure optimal running of the NOC on Wednesday, 29 January at the NOC building in Lagos.

NOC president Habu Gumel said the move to formally inaugurate the Commissions aligns with the vision of the current board to ensure a wider spread of the Olympics message and a better run Olympics movement.

Gumel said all appointments into the Commissions were above board and involved inputs from stakeholders and adhered to the stipulations of the International Olympic Charter and NOC Statutes.

All nine newly set up bodies are expected to play advisory roles, as well as help, propagate the Olympic values enshrined in the NOC charter.


Technical & Development

Chairman: Mr Lawrence Iquaibom
Vice Chairman: Mr Chimdi Ejiogu

Marketing and Sponsorship

Chairman: Mr Wahid Enitan Oshodi
Vice-Chairman: Mr Abdul A. Ibrahim

Liaison Commission

Chairman: Mr Habu Gumel
Vice-Chairman: Mr Solomon Ogba

Athletes Commission

Chairman: Mr Olumide Oyedeji
Vice Chairman: Mrs Mariam Usman

Olympic Education & Culture

Chairman: Mr Mohammed Abdullahi
Vice Chairman: Dr Patrick Okpah, OON

Sports For All

Chairman: Pastor Anthony Oyetayo
Vice-Chairman: Mr Yakubu Ibrahim

Sport & Environment
Chairman: Hon. Mohammed Bello Suleiman
Vice-Chairman: Mallam Gambo Umar Labbo

Ethics & Good Governance

Chairman: Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye
Vice-Chairman: Mr Chijioke Okoli, SAN

Olympafrica Development

Chairman: Engr. Ishaku Tikon
Vice-Chairman: Mr Babatunde Fatayi-Williams