Kano Pillars Complete Successive League Titles

For a second successive year, Kano Pillars won the Nigeria Basketball League, defeating Gombe Bulls 74-54 on Saturday at the Kofarmata Arena, Sani Abacha Stadium, in Kano.

The league defending champions headed into the game on the back of a (3-1) record at the Final 8, coincidentally recording their only loss against Gombe Bulls in the group phase.

Aided by their all-star lineup, Abubakar Usman-Tournament Top Scorer, Joseph Nwafor, Dele Ademola and the rest of the team, it was a closely contested first quarter, which Pillars emerged 13-12 winners.

The second quarter saw Kano Pillars extend their lead 36-30, third quarter 53-40, fourth quarter 74-54. It was a befitting end to the tournament, as both teams picked up continental tickets to represent Nigeria next year at Africa Club competitions, as well as N20million and N15million for the winner and runner-up respectively.

In the Third place game, Hoops and Read for the umpteenth time this season defied the form guide and pedigree, securing a 61-52 victory over Kwara Falcons.

It was always a one-way traffic for the privately-sponsored debutant Hoops and Read team, who won all four quarters of the game, equally going home with N10million for finishing third at the competition.

The first quarter ended 12-10 in Hoops favour, second quarter 25-22, third quarter 45-30, and fourth quarter 61-52.