Eight Players Sent Home As D’Tigers Gears Up Preparation For 2017 FIBA AfroBasket

Eight home based players have been asked to return to their respective clubs as the D’Tigers of Nigeria gears up preparation for next weekend’s FIBA AfroBasket in Tunisia/Senegal.

The eight players, who were among the 14 home based players that made the provisional 24-man invitee list, are Eli Abraham, Onyeka Okeke, Yakubu Sylvanus, Echoibi Victor, Joel Ejigba, David Godwin, Mojuba Oyeleye and Ibrahim Olajuwon.

The team, lead by Head Coach, Alex Nwora, continue their preparation at the indoor sports hall, National Stadium, Surulere, to determine the final 12-man squad that will represent the country at the continental championship.

The 16 remaining players include captain Diogu Ike, Bryant Ikenna, Ike Nwamu, Washington Wizards center Daniel Ochefu, Akingbala Akinloku, Ikenna Iroegbu, O`karo Akamune, Anthony Odunsi, Deji Akindele, Kelechi Anuna, Musa Usman, Victor Anthony, Azuoma Dike, Timothy Mudiaga, Abdul Yahaya and Chukwudaalu Egbejiogwu.

The 2017 FIBA Afrobasket Championship tips off from Friday 8 – 16 September in two cities, Tunis, Tunisia and Dakar, Senegal.