EFL Cup 4th Round Fixtures: Lampard Lies in Wait for Solksjaer

The English Football League (EFL) Cup christened Carabao Cup on grounds of sponsorship will have two tasty fixtures in the fourth round as Frank Lampard’s young Chelsea side face Ole Gunnar Solksjaer’s Manchester United while Liverpool hosts Arsenal.

Lampard believes “a lot can happen in football in a short time” considering Manchester United mauled Chelsea at the start of the season but are now struggling in form and had to wait till after regulation time to beat League One side Rochdale 4-3 through penalties.

Meanwhile, Lampard’s men walloped League Two side Grimsby Town 7-1 on Wednesday night. While Chelsea seems to get better with each game baring losses to Liverpool in the League and Super Cup finals, Manchester United has gone on from that opening day battering of Chelsea to losing twice in the league – against Crystal Palace and Westham United.

“It is two big teams. I am pleased we are at home and we will see,” Lampard said without hiding his joy to meet United in his own territory.

Solksjaer sounded aware of the bridge in form between both sides and said, “”We’re not going to say, ‘Ahh!’ – we’re going to relish it [facing Chelsea] and look forward to it.”

EFL Cup fourth round fixtures in full:

Everton v Watford

Aston Villa v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Manchester City v Southampton

Burton v Leicester

Crawley v Colchester

Chelsea v Manchester United

Oxford v Sunderland

Liverpool v Arsenal

The Evolution of the EFL Cup: From Coca-Cola Cup to Carabao Cup

The EFL Cup has been renamed severally since its inception in 1997. Prior to Carabao’s sponsorship of the tournament starting from 2017, the competition was simply called the EFL Cup (2016-17).

EFL Cup Former Names

Coca-Cola Cup (from 1992-93 to 1997-98).

Worthington Cup (sponsored by Worthington’s from 1998-99 to 2002-03).

The Carling Cup (sponsored by Molson Coors/Carling from 2003-04 to 2011-12).

The Capital One Cup (2012-13 to 2015-16).

the competition was simply called the EFL Cup (2016-17).

Carabao Cup (2017 till date).