CAF Reveals Format For Inaugural Women’s Champions League

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed the qualification format for the newly introduced women’s champions’ league.

Qualification for the inaugural edition of the premier club competition for women’s teams will hold on a zonal basis from which eight clubs will emerge for the final tournament, CAF revealed after a virtual meeting on Thursday.

Each of CAF’s six zones will organize qualifiers to produce a team each for the eight team tournament which will debut next year.

One team from the host country and an additional team from the zonal union hosting the tournament will complete the lineup for the inaugural edition.

However, subsequent editions will have just a single team from the host country while the Zonal Union that produces the defending champions will have two teams in the competition.

The eight qualified teams will be drawn into two groups of four teams each in accordance with the regulations. The competition will be held annually and during the second half of each year.

Each domestic association will determine the process of qualification for the zonal qualifiers although it is likely that the spot will be reserved for league champions.

Other decisions affecting the African football calendar include the confirmation that the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations will now be played in July 2022.

The 2020 edition was cancelled as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

CAF also confirmed that the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations 2020 will be hosted by Senegal.

The finalists will represent Africa at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Russia 2021. The details of the final tournament will be communicated in due course although Nigeria won’t be at the tournament following the decision of the NFF to disband the Beach Soccer national team.

Africa’s football governing body also announced that bids to host the following competitions is now open:

Women’s Champions League 2021 & 2022

Women’s Africa Cup of Nations – 2022

Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations 2022

U-17 Africa Cup of Nations – 2023

U-20 Africa Cup of Nations – 2023

U-23 Africa Cup of Nations – 2023

CAF Champions League Final 2021, 2022 and 2023

CAF Confederation Cup Final 2021, 2022 and 2023