Bronze, Rapinoe, van Dijk, Messi, Ronaldo, Named As FIFA Best Awards Finalists

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk has been named as a finalist in the Best Fifa Football Awards along with Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, as has England and Lyon defender Lucy Bronze.

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola, Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp and Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettino are the final three for the men’s coach award.

Liverpool centre-back Van Dijk has already claimed the Uefa Men’s Player of the Year award, becoming the first defender to do so.

He could add the Fifa Men’s award after helping his side win the Champions League in June. The Dutchman was voted PFA Player of the Year as the Reds finished second in the Premier League.

Last season, he played every Premier League game as Liverpool conceded only 22 goals – the lowest number in any of Europe’s top six leagues.

Van Dijk is up against Ronaldo, who scored 28 goals last season and helped Juventus win Serie A and the Nations League with Portugal, as well as Barcelona’s Messi.

The Argentine forward netted 51 times in all competitions to win the Golden Boot in both the Champions League and La Liga, and claimed the Spanish top-flight title.

Lyon right-back Bronze was named Uefa Player of the Year in the women’s category.

She picked up the Silver Ball at the World Cup in France for the second-best player at the tournament and helped Lyon win the league and Champions League double.

Bronze is up against Megan Rapinoe, who led the USA to a record fourth World Cup in July. She won the Golden Boot, the Golden Ball and scored the opener in the final before being named the Fifa player of the match in Lyon.

America team-mate Alex Morgan also scored six goals and provided three assists in France to take home the Silver Boot.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony in Milan on 23 September.

Best Fifa Awards in Full

Men’s player:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)

Women’s player:

Lucy Bronze (Lyon/England), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/USA), Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC/USA)

Men’s coach:

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

Women’s coach:

Jill Ellis (USA), Phil Neville (England), Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Women’s goalkeeper:

Christiane Endler (Paris St-Germain/Chile), Hedvig Lindahl (Wolfsburg/Sweden), Sari van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid/Netherlands)

Men’s goalkeeper:

Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil), Ederson (Manchester City/Brazil), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)

Puskas award (for best goal):

Lionel Messi (Barcelona v Real Betis), Juan Quintero (River Plate v Racing Club), Daniel Zsori (Debrecen v Ferencvaros)