AITEO Cup Roundup: Big Guns Rain Goals On Amateurs

Two matches produced 19 goals as the Women’s AITEO Cup entered the Round of 16 on Wednesday with Nigeria Women Premier League sides, Nasarawa Amazons and Rivers Angels, showing their weaker opponents no mercy.

The massacre began in Abuja where Nasarawa Amazons literarily enjoyed Beautiful Tours for lunch with a thoroughly emphatic 10-0 scoreline – five goals in each half.

Defending Champions Rivers Angels then pounced on Ben Women FC at the Yakubu Gowon Stadium in Port Harcourt beating them by nine goals to nothing.

Amarachi Ojinma helped herself to four goals, Rafiat Sule got a brace, while Amanda Mbandi, Patience Kalu, and Mabel Effiom also registered their names on the score sheet with one goal each.

Nasarawa Amazons and Rivers Angels have booked their place in the Quarter finals of this year’s AITEO Cup alongside Confluence Queens and Edo Queens who also emerged victorious in their respective fixtures.

The standout fixture of the Round of 16 between Sunshine Queens and Bayelsa Queens in Akure ended goalless. Hence there will be a replay in Nembe on the 16th of September.

There are three other draws which require replays as well.

The Osogbo Township Stadium saw Osun Babes force their visitors, Ibom Angels to a 1-1 draw. After a goalless first half, Bidemi Ibe put Ibom Angels in the lead in the 47th minute but the goal was cancelled in the 69th minute by Abiodun Adebayo from the penalty spot.

In Calabar, Pelican Stars held FC Robo Queens to a 1-1 draw while in Ogbomoso, Jokodolu Babes shared the spoils with Abia Angels in a barren affair.

AITEO Cup Round of 16 Results

Pelican Stars 1-1 FC Robo Queens

Confluence Queens 3-0 Sure Babes

Bayelsa Queens Feeders 1-3 Edo Queens

Rivers Angels 9-0 Ben Women FC

Sunshine Queens 0-0 Bayelsa Queens

Beautiful Tours 0-10 Nasarawa Amazons

Jokodolu Babes 0-0 Abia Angels

Osun Babes 1-1 Ibom Angels


FC Robo Queens Vs Pelican Stars – Legacy Pitch, Surulere, Lagos

Bayelsa Queens Vs Sunshine Queens – Nembe Stadium

Abia Angels Vs Jokodolu Babes – Umuahia Township Stadium

Ibom Angels Vs Osun Babes – Uyo Township Stadium