AFCON 2021: Nigeria Handed Favourable Draw in Qualifying Round

Nigeria have been drawn against Sierra Leone, Lesotho, and 2019 Africa Cup of Nations quarterfinalists Benin Republic in Group L of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations which is scheduled to be hosted by Cameroon.

The ceremony took place on Thursday evening at the Marriott Hotels in Cairo, in the presence of African football legends like Nwankwo Kanu, Samuel Eto’o, Khalilou Fadiga, Geremi Njitap, El Hadji Diouf, and Jose Clayton.

Anthony Baffoe, CAF Deputy General Secretary of Football and Development, took charge of proceedings and assisted by Algerian football icon, Rabah Madjer, Eto’o, and Kanu.

The 48 participating teams were drawn into 12 groups consisting of four teams, including the four winners of the preliminary stage.

In Group A, Mali will join Guinea, Namibia and the winner between Liberia and Chad for size, while Group B comprises of Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, and Djibouti/Gambia.

South Africa will face Sudan, fellow AFCON 2019 quarterfinalists and a winner from the preliminary round in Group C.

The top two teams will book their place for the 33rd edition of the continental showpiece.

Meanwhile, hosts Cameroon will participate in the qualifiers despite being guaranteed a spot in the finals regardless of its ranking in the group.