2018 Nigerian Sports Award Nomination Process Is Now Open

The nomination process for the 2018 Nigerian Sports Award is now open as entry from the general public for the different award categories runs from May 23 till October 7, 2018.

This was revealed by the Chairman of the award panel Dr. Kweku Tandoh, who also doubles as the Chairman of the Lagos State Sports Commission at a press conference held to usher in the start of nominations.

According to Tandoh, there are 21 categories are open for nominations this year and the list include; Racket Sports Person of the Year (Lawn Tennis, Table Tennis, Badminton, Squash), Team Sports Person of the Year, Coach of the Year, Combat Sports Personality of the Year (Karate, Judo, Taekwondo, Wrestling, Boxing), Wrestler of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Footballer of the Year (Women), Footballer of the Year (Men), Athletics Star of the Year, School Sports Award, Sports Administrator of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year and Para Sports Person of the Year.

While speaking on the nomination process and the mechanics, the Executive Director, Unmissable Incentives Limited, Mr. Kayode Idowu revealed that sport lovers and the public have the opportunity to nominate via Twitter using the hashtag for each category.

In his words, Mr. Idowu said: “We would continue with the trend of allowing nominations via various social media platforms including twitter and Facebook to allow for maximum participation in the nomination process as we have done in previous editions. Participants can also submit their nominations on our website or submit hard copy nomination forms which would be available at the Sport Ministry (State & Federal) and Sports Federations to us”.

Idowu thereafter commended the sponsors who have been involved in the past including Bet9ja – Nigeria’s leading sports betting company, Sifax Group and partners including Mastersports International, Supersports, LASAA and others for their unflinching support for the award.

Also speaking at the Press Conference, a member of the award panel and veteran journalist Mr. Mitchel Obi stated that the award will live up to expectation.