2017 Best FIFA Football Awards: Ronaldo Wins Best Male Player

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the world’s best male player award at the 2017 Best Fifa Football Awards in London.

The 32-year old forward took 43.16% of the votes ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi (19.25%) and Paris St-Germain’s Neymar (6.97%).

The award was Ronaldo’s reward for leading his Real Madrid team to a Champions League-La Liga double in 2016-17.

Lieke Martens of Barcelona and the Netherlands won best female player while Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane and Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman were named the best men’s coach and the best female coach respectively.

Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud received the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017 for his ‘scorpion kick’ against Crystal Palace during an English Premier League (EPL) game in January.

Scottish champions Celtic won the fan award after they honoured the club’s 1967 ‘Lisbon Lions’ with a stunning 360-degree card display during the 50th anniversary of their historic European Cup win.


Other Award Recipients:

Fairplay Award – Francis Kone

Best Goalkeeper – Gianlugi Buffon


Goalkeeper – Gianlugi Buffon

Defenders – Daniel Alves, Leonardo Bonucci,  Sergio Ramos and Marcelo

Midfielders – Toni Kroos, Luka Modric and Andres Iniesta

Forwards – Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar