Tornadoes Pay The Penalty As Akwa United Win 2017 Aiteo Cup

Giantkilllers Niger Tornadoes suffered heartbreak after Akwa United won the 2017 Aiteo Cup by beating the Minna-based side 3-2 on penalties after the game ended in a stalemate.

Both teams struggled to create openings during the game played at the Agege Stadium in Lagos ànd it was largely unsurprising that it ended in a goalless affair which paved the way for the dreaded penalty shootouts.

For winning their second title in three seasons, 2015 winners Akwa United have qualified for the CAF Confederations Cup in 2018 in addition to a whooping N25m. Finalists Niger Tornadoes will also receive N10m as the second-placed team.