FIBA World Cup Qualifiers: Chad To Replace South Africa

The Republic of Chad have been confirmed as replacement for South Africa after their men basketball team withdrew from Group A of the 2019 FIBA World Cup Qualifiers (African section).

After taking South Africa’s spot, Chad will now do battle with Guinea, Cameroon and Tunisia in the group.

16 teams have been pooled into four groups with five teams expected to represent Africa at the 2019 FIBA World Cup in China. Qualifiers will start later this month.

2019 FIBA World Cup Qualifiers (African section)

Group A: Guinea, Chad, Cameroon and Tunisia.

Group B: Mali, Uganda, Rwanda and NIGERIA.

Group C: Angola, DR Congo, Egypt and Morocco.

Group D: Senegal, Mozambique, Ivory Coast and Central African Republic.