Cricket: NCF Confirms Women’s Squad For Kwibuka Tournament In Rwanda

The Nigeria Cricket Federation has announced a final 15-player women’s national cricket team squad for the annual international friendly series in Rwanda, also known as the Kwibuka tournament.

The tournament which is expected to take place from the 6-13 June at the Gahanga Stadium in Kigali will see Nigeria battle the likes of Kenya, Uganda, Namibia, Botswana and hosts Rwanda

According to the NCF, the final 15 were selected from the 22 players picked for the second phase of camping which recently ended in Abuja. A total of 40 ladies had been invited to the first phase of camping which was later pruned to 22 players for the second phase.

An NCF statement described the final squad as a blend of experience and youth with some familiar names interspersed with first-time national team players.

Samantha Agazuma will once again lead the team as captain alongside experienced lieutenants Blessing Etim, Agatha Obulor, Salome Sunday and Esther Sandy.

The only centurion in the history of women’s cricket in Nigeria, Lucky Piety also finds a spot in the team making her the youngest player at age 14 to ever wear the prestigious Green and Yellow colours of the country.

Omonkhobhio Oseyande and Chinyenum George have been placed on stand-by.

The Women’s Yellow Greens will depart the shores of the country on Thursday, 3 June 2021.

Final List of Players For Kwibuka Tournament

  1. Agazuma Samantha (C)
  2. Etim Blessing
  3. Asika Omonye
  4. Obulor Agatha
  5. Eseigbe Favour
  6. Samson Rachael
  7. Abdulquadri Kehinde
  8. Igbobie Abigail
  9. Sunday Salome
  10. Imimole Miracle
  11. Desmond Mary
  12. Sandy Esther
  13. Efosa Joy
  14. Lucky Piety
  15. Nwobodo Blessing


  1. Omonkhobhio Oseyande
  2. Chinyenum George