Wrestling: NWF Names 15 For 2020 African Championships

The Nigeria Wrestling Federation (NWF) has announced a strong team of 15 athletes that will fly the country’s flag at the 2020 African Wrestling Championships in Algiers, Algeria, from 3rd to 9th February.

Blessing Oborududu (68kg), a 9-time African champion and world No. 2 Odunayo Adekuoroye (57kg) headline the list, which is made up of 10 female and 5 male wrestlers.

Also in the list are multiple African champions Aminat Adeniyi (62kg), Mercy Genesis (50kg), Amas Daniel (65kg), Emmanuel John (74kg) and Soso Tamarau (97kg).

World champion in Beach wrestling Blessing Onyebuchi (76kg), African champions Sunmisola Balogun (72kg), Bose Samuel (53kg), Bisola Makanjuola (59kg), Ebikewino Welson (57kg) and Ekerekeme Agiomor (86kg) are also in the squad.

The wrestlers have been intensifying preparations for the tournament in close camps in Yenagoa and Akure.

They will be accompanied to the African Championships by four coaches and four officials.

The delegation, which will be led by the President of the NWF Hon, Daniel Igali, is expected to depart Nigeria on 5th February and arrive Algiers the next day via a Turkish Airline flight.

Team Nigeria will begin competition at the tournament in Women Wrestling on 8th February, with the men in action a day after.

The Nigerian women are defending champions in Women Wrestling at the African Championships, and will be hoping to successfully claim the title for a record-extending 9th time in a row.

Full List:

Women Wrestling Team

  1. Mercy Genesis (50kg)
  2. Bose Samuel (53kg)
  3. Esther Kolawole (55kg)
  4. Odunayo Adekuoroye (57kg)
  5. Bisola Makunjuola (59kg)
  6. Aminat Adeniyi (62kg)
  7. Hannah Reuben (65kg)
  8. Blessing Oborududu (68kg)
  9. Sunmisola Balogun (72kg)
  10. Blessing Onyebuchi (76kg)

Men’s Freestyle

  1. Ebikewenimo Welson (57kg)
  2. Amas Daniel (65kg)
  3. Emmanuel John (74kg)
  4. Ekerekeme Agiomor (86kg)
  5. Soso Tamarau (97kg)


  1. Happiness Burutu
  2. Victor Kodei
  3. Purity Akuh
  4. Joe Oziti
  5. Hon. Daniel Igali (NWF President)
  6. Umar Almu (NWF Sec. Gen.)
  7. Adam Kabir (Medical)
  8. Emeka Dennar (Media Officer)