Wayne Rooney and Zlatan Ibrahimovic Nominated For MLS MVP

Former Manchester United teammates, Wayne Rooney and Zlatan Ibrahimovic have been nominated for the US Major League Soccer’s MVP Award.

Rooney, DC United’s captain and LA Galaxy striker Ibrahimovic are shortlisted for Most Valuable Player after their debut seasons in the US.

Rooney’s 12 goals and seven assists in only 20 appearances for DC helped them qualify for the MLS playoffs, while Ibrahimovic netted 22 goals and 10 assists in just 27 appearances. They have also been nominated in the Newcomer of the Year category at the end-of-season awards, and Ibrahimovic also gets a nod in the Comeback Player of the Year section. Meaning Rooney has been nominated in two categories while Ibrahimovic has three nominations.

Rooney left Old Trafford after 13 years as the highest goalscorer in United’s history to rejoin Everton, his boyhood club, in 2017 before deciding to challenge the MLS in June 2018.

Former Paris Saint-Germain, AC Milan and Barcelona player Ibrahimovic enjoyed two seasons with the Red Devils, before moving to LA in March.

Ibrahimovic suffered cruciate knee-ligament damage in United’s Europa League win over Anderlecht on 20 April 2017 and only played a further five games for the club.

MLS MVP shortlist

Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (LA Galaxy)

Josef Martinez (Atlanta United)

Wayne Rooney (D.C. United)

Carlos Vela (Los Angeles Football Club)