Volleyball: Sunshine Spikers, Super Force Emerge Division One League Champions

Sunshine Spikers of Akure and Super Force have emerged champions of the National Volleyball League Division One in Bauchi.

In the men’s category, Sunshine Spikers finished first with 39 points, closely followed by COAS Spikers in second position with 35 points while Offa VC finished third with 29 points.

Nigeria Correction Service finished in fourth position with 28 points, Niger Brass after a woeful performance in the second leg placed fifth with 21 points, Kada Kings are sixth with 20 points while ABM of Katsina finished seventh position with 14 points.

Dynamic of Anambra, Delta Force and Imo Spikers who failed to show up in Bauchi finished eighth, ninth and tenth respectively.

In the women’s category, Super Force finished first with 14 points, Heartland of Imo placed second with 10 points while Zamfara Babes placed third with 0 points.

Super Force

Dauda Saje of Nigeria Correction Service was adjudged the Most Valuabe Player in the men’s category, while Joy Akitumo of Super Force was voted the Most Valuable Player in the women’s category.

Other winners include:

Best Setter- Amos Nathan (Nigeria Correction Service), Best Spiker- Mayowa Bello (Offa VC), Best Blocker- Levy (COAS Spikers), Best Defender- Junior Akama (ABM of Katsina), Best Receiver- Afun Idowu (Sunshine Spikers), Best Server- Tochukwu Owoh (Sunshine Spikers) and MVP- Dauda Saje (Correction Service)

Best Setter- Amara Nwachukwu (Heartland), Best Spiker- Prisca Ajegba (Heartland), Best Blocker- Naomi Obidi (Heartland), Best Defender- Favour Ibe (Super Force), Best Receiver- Pamela (Zamfara Babes), Best Server- Prisca Ajegba (Heartland) and MVP- Joy Akitumo (Super Force).