Volleyball: NVBF Announce Final 12-Man List For U19 World Cup

Head coach of Nigeria’s U19 Boys team, Sani Mohammed has announced a final 12-man roster for the 2021 FIVB U19 Boys World Championship.

The 2021 FIVB U19 Boys World Championship will take place in Iran from 24 August to 4 September, 2021.

Mohammed listed Kano Pillars’ Michael Abari as captain of the national side with and Nasa Thunder VC’s Jerry Kinze named vice captain.

Regulars including OFFA VC’s Abdulquadri Jaiyeola, COAS Spikers’ Vincent Mathias and NSCDC’s Ozokoye Pascal also make the list of players bound for Iran.

Mohammed revealed that the team aims to surpass their previous 14th position at the 2019 World Championship in Tunisia.

He said, “The boys are ready to make Nigeria proud at the FIVB World Championship. At the last World Championship, Nigeria finished 14thposition which is encouraging. This time around, we want to improve our performance.

“It is our prayer that the boys have an injury free tournament, play well and eventually get clubs to sign them after the championship.

The Nigeria U19 players who departed the country on Thursday played against Kaduna selected and Abuja selected in their final tune up games ahead of the World Championship.

Nigeria will play hosts Iran, Poland and Guatemala in the group stage of the tournament.

The full U19 man list:

Jerry Kinze (Nasa Thunder VC); Vincent Mathias (COAS Spikers); Abdulquadri Jaiyeola (OFFA VC); Quadri Ogunboyejo (Legacy); Oyewole Oyedepo (OFFA VC); Timothy Ogwulumba (Sunshine Spikers); Paul Ogwulumba (Sunshine Spikers); Farouk Lucky (Kano Pillars); Michael Abari (Kano Pillars); Michael Digil (Kada Emeralds); Mathias Peter (Kada Emeralds); and Ozokoye Pascal (Plateau Rocks)