Volleyball: Eighteen Teams Confirmed For NVBF Super Cup

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF) says a total of eighteen teams will compete in a newly formed Super Cup tournament which has been scheduled for 19-29 November at the University of Ilorin.

The NVBF’s League Management Committee (LMC) said in a statement on Thursday that the competition will hold in place of the Premier and Division One leagues this year.

The tournament will feature the top four men’s and women’s teams from last season’s Premier and Division One leagues respectively.

Professor Olatunde Morakinyo who heads the LMC said the decision to hold the Super Cup was to ensure a competitive tournament for players before year’s end after the coronavirus-induced shuttering of sports made the staging of the regular league competitions unfeasible this year.

He added that the Super Cup will also help keep players fit ahead of the National Sports Festival which is still being projected to hold this year.

“I am glad to announce that this year we are going to host the Super Cup instead of the Premier League and Division One,” Professor Morakinyo said.

“The top four teams in the Nigeria Volleyball Premier League and National Division One League will converge.

“Immediately the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 lifted the ban on contact sports, the LMC of the Volleyball Federation concluded that the best way to preserve our yearly program is to organise the Super Cup which consists of the best four teams in the Premier League and best four teams in the National Division One.”

Some of the participating teams in the Super Cup include: Nigeria Customs Service, Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corp (NSCDC), Kano Pillars and Nigeria Police Force.

Others include Sunshine Spikers, COAS Spikers, Offa Volleyball Club and Nigeria Correctional Service in the men’s category.

The Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corp (NSCDC), Nigeria Custom Service, Nigeria Immigration Service, COAS Spikers, Kada Emeralds, Nigeria Police Force, Benue Queens and Heartland of Owerri will feature in the women’s draw.