Unusual Suspects Make Up Gernot Rohr’s Team To Face Seychelles And Egypt

Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has invited stand-in captain Ahmed Musa and 22 other players for this month’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against the Pirates of Seychelles and the international friendly against The Pharaohs of Egypt, both games billed for the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba, Delta State.

Brighton and Hove Albion defender who recently resumed training after a three week lay off, Leon Balogun is listed alongside Abdullahi Shehu, William Troost-Ekong and in-form CD Leganes defender Kenneth Omeruo.

Stoke City’s Oghenekaro Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi are included in the midfield lineup, while Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon are listed as forwards.

Rohr has also named Flying Eagles’ defender Valentine Ozornwafor, as well as well as former U17 World Cup winner, Victor Osimhen and Denmark–based Paul Onuachu.

The 2013 AFCON champions confront Seychelles in a dead rubber match on Friday, 22nd March, which kicks off at 4pm, and then tackle the Pharaohs of Egypt at the same venue in a prestige international friendly four days later.  

All invited players, alongside technical and backroom crew, are expected to report to camp in the Delta State capital on Monday, 18th March 2019.

Full List of Invited Players;

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark)