The Three World Cup Double Winners…Kane Next?

Only three Golden Boot winners have been on World Cup-winning sides in the last ten tournaments. I am ignoring 1962 on the grounds that a) there was no trophy and b) there were six players tied on a paltry four goals.

Harry Kane is on course to win the Golden Boot at the 2018 tournament as he has now scored six goals, with Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku – his nearest rival still in the tournament – on four.

So who is he aiming to follow?

And yes, we know there was no actual trophy in 1978 either but how could you deny this fella…?

Mario Kempes (Argentina, 1978)

The long-haired Kempes became a national hero as Argentina won the World Cup on home soil in 1978.

Kempes failed to score in the initial group stage, but braces against Poland and Peru helped Argentina in to the final. He then scored twice in the 3-1 final victory over Holland to make it six goals – one clear of Rob Rensenbrink and Teofilo Cubillas – and also won the Golden Ball for the player of the tournament.

Paolo Rossi (Italy, 1982)

Italy were World Cup outsiders in 1982 after scrambling through the first group stage, but Rossi’s hat-trick eliminated favourites Brazil and there was no stopping the Azzurri after that.

Rossi scored both goals in the 2-0 semi-final win over Poland and claimed the first in the 3-1 final win over West Germany.

His six-goal haul saw him finish one ahead of Karl-Heinz Rummenigge as he also took home the Golden Ball.

Ronaldo (Brazil, 2002)

Ronaldo had missed Brazil’s entire World Cup qualification campaign after rupturing the cruciate ligament in his right knee in April 2000.

But he was on fire in Japan and Korea with four goals in the group stage and two more in last 16 and semi-finals wins. Ronaldo scored twice in the 2-0 final victory over Germany to make it eight goals for the tournament. It was not enough to win the Golden Ball though, the award went to Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn.