Tennis: 2019 ATP Awards Winners Announced

Bob and Mike Bryan, Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal have been named among the recipients in the 2019 ATP Awards, along with first-time winners Kevin Anderson, Matteo Berrettini and Jannik Sinner. 

Nadal, who was honoured with the 2019 ATP Tour No. 1 trophy during the Nitto ATP Finals, has been voted by fellow players as the winner of the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for a second straight year and third time overall. Former World No. 1 Andy Murray, who underwent hip surgery in January, has been selected as Comeback Player of the Year after successfully returning to win the Fever-Tree Championships doubles title at The Queen’s Club and the singles title at the European Open in Antwerp.

A pair of Italians, Berrettini and Sinner, take home honours in the two other player-voted categories. Berrettini, 23, claims Most Improved Player of the Year after climbing to a career-high No. 8 (from No. 54 in 2018) and qualifying for the Nitto ATP Finals. The 18-year-old Sinner, who went from outside the Top 700 (No. 763 in 2018) to a career-high No. 78 and also took the Next Gen ATP Finals title, wins Newcomer of the Year. Sinner is the youngest player in the year-end Top 80 since 17-year-old Nadal finished No. 47 in 2003.

The Fans’ Favourite Awards go to Federer and the Bryan Brothers, who respectively win the popular vote for a record-extending 17th straight year and 14th time. 

Frenchman Gilles Cervara, who guided Daniil Medvedev to an ATP Tour-best 59 match wins and nine finals in 2019, has been named by his peers as ATP Coach of the Year. Meanwhile, Tony Roche has been selected as the winner of the inaugural Tim Gullikson Career Coach award, which recognises coaches who, throughout their careers, have had a major impact on the sport of tennis, both on and off the court. 

Other winners include Colombians Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah, the year-end ATP Tour No. 1 Doubles Team; Anderson, who receives the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award; and The Australian’s Courtney Walsh, the recipient of the Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award.

The best tournaments on the ATP Tour and ATP Challenger Tour have also been revealed, with the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells (Masters 1000), the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presentado por HSBC (500) and the Qatar ExxonMobil Open (250) named the Tournaments of the Year in their respective categories. On the ATP Challenger Tour, four tournaments share top honours: the Puerto Vallarta Open, the Sparkassen Open in Braunschweig, the NECKARCUP in Heilbronn, and the Pekao Szczecin Open.