Swiatek Defeats Paolini, Wins Third Consecutive French Open Title

Poland’s Iga Swiatek has won her third straight French Open title after defeating Jasmine Paolini 6-2, 6-1 in the final on Saturday.

The world No 1, who is now a four-time Roland Garros champion, has five Grand Slam titles to her name.

Swiatek is the third player after Justine Henin (2005-07) and Monica Seles (1990-92) to lift the Suzanne Lenglen Cup three years in a row since tennis turned professional in 1968.


Read Also: NTF Affirms Commitment In Promoting Gender Equality

The 12th-seeded Paolini broke for 2-1 in an explosive start before being outplayed by Swiatek, who won 11 of the 12 remaining games to extend her winning streak in Paris to 21 consecutive matches.

“It’s amazing to be here. I love this place. I wait every year to come back,” said Swiatek, who clicked into gear after saving a match point against Naomi Osaka in

This post was originally published on this site