Super Falcons Emerge Victorious at the 2018 CAF Awards

Nigeria’s female national football team, the Super Falcons, have emerged victorious after being named the African Women’s Team of the Year at the 2018 CAF Awards held at the Abdou Diouf International Conference Center, Dakar, Senegal.

With competition from countries like Cameroon, Ghana, Mali and South Africa, Nigeria won the award for the fourth time since the category was created in 2010.

The Super Falcons emerged as winners after a successful defence of their Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) title in Ghana, taking their tally to a record nine times.

Unfortunately, the Nigerian ladies were the only winners from Nigeria at the 2018 CAF Awards were all the other lost out in their nominated categories.

Head coach of the Falcons, Thomas Dennerby, also lost out on the Women’s Coach of the Year to Banyana Banyana of South Africa coach, Desiree Ellis who led her team to 2018 AWCON final only to lose on penalties to the Super Falcons.

Nigerian stars who were pivotal in the Falcons’ 2018 AWCON triumph, Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega, also missed out on the awards as they were beaten by South Africa’s Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana who won the Africa Women’s Player of the Year award after helping her country to their first ever AWCON final and World Cup qualification.