Sane Misses Out On Germany World Cup Squad

Manchester City star Leroy Sane has surprisingly been left out of the Germany squad for this summer’s FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Sane had a stellar season for the Citizens as he helped them win both the Premier League and Carabao Cup titles in addition to being named PFA Young Player of the Year.

He misses the final squad alongside the Bayer Leverkusen duo of Bernd Leno and Jonathan Tah and Freiburg striker Nils Petersen.

Germany coach Joachim Low had earlier named a 27-man World Cup provisional squad before dropping the aforementioned players to arrive at the final squad just before the FIFA deadline set for the end of today (June 4).

Germany begin the defence of the World Cup title they won four years ago against Mexico on June 17, before facing Sweden and South Korea in their other Group F fixtures.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (PSG)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach), Jonas Hector (Koln), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin)

Midfielders: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (PSG), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund)

Forwards: Mario Gomez (Stuttgart), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)