Russia 2018: Countries Nigeria Can’t Face At The Group Stage

South American nation Peru became the 32nd and final nation to qualify for next year’s World Cup in Russia earlier on Thursday following their 2-0 aggregate win over New Zealand meaning attention will now shift to the draw ceremony on December 1.

Nigeria and her fans would be keen on the December 1 draw proceedings however it must be pointed out that the country can’t face other countries from the same pot or countries from the same continent.

For the draw proper, 32 teams will be divided into four pots and that is determined by the FIFA ranking for October though it’s certain that host nation Russia will be in Pot 1 in addition to been seeded in Group A.

Based on the previously mentioned ranking, Nigeria are in pot four alongside Serbia, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea and Saudi Arabia, and that means they can’t face them at the tournament (Group Stage).

The other three pots:

Pot 1 : Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France

Pot 2 : Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia

Pot 3 : Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran

Nigeria will draw one country each from the three pots bar the African countries (Tunisia, Senegal and Egypt) to add to the already stated fact that they can’t be pitched against another team from Pot 4.

The draw ceremony is expected to take place on 1 December 2017 at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow.


Countries Nigeria Can’t Face (Group Stage):

1. Saudi Arabia

2. Serbia

3. Australia

4. Japan

5. Panama

6. Morocco

7. South Korea

8. Egypt

9. Senegal

10. Tunisia