Rohr Unveils 24-Man Squad For AFCON Qualifier Against Seychelles

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has named a 24-man squad for the upcoming 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Seychelles.

The former Bayern Munich defender unveiled his squad for the crucial clash with hosts Seychelles on September 8 at a press conference held in Lagos.

Some of the notable absentees on the list include team captain John Mikel Obi, recently retired Chelsea winger Victor Moses and experienced left back Elderson Uwa Echiejile.

Players like Paderborn left back Jamiu Collins, Semi Ajayi, and newly signed Bordeaux forward Samuel Kalu have been called up to the Super Eagles setup for the first time.

Four players were placed on the standby list by the Franco-German tactician.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Jamiu Collins, Brian Idowu, Chidozie Awaziem, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo.

Midfielders: John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Ogenyi Onazi, Wilfred Ndidi, Joel Obi, Kelechi Nwakali.

Forwards: Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Samuel Kalu, Kelechi Iheanacho, Odion Ighalo, Henry Onyekuru, Simeon Nwankwo.

Standby List:

Uche Agbo, Eze Stephen, Musa Muhammed and Blessing Eleke.