Rohr, Oshoala Make CAF Award Shortlist

Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr, and Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala have made the CAF Award shortlist for the 2017 AITEO CAF Awards.

The duo were announced earlier on Monday evening as part of the shortlist for new categories ahead of the 2017 Award gala scheduled for Thursday, January 4, 2018 in the Ghanaian capital of Accra.

The new categories include Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year (Men & Women), Youth Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Referee of the Year.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are also in the National Team of the Year category along with Egypt, Cameroon and Zambia U-20.

The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF media experts panel and independent media and TV consultants, according to CAF. However, only members of the CAF Referees’ Committee will elect the Referee of the Year.

Women’s Player of the Year:

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)

Women’s National Team of the Year:

Ghana U-20


Nigeria U-20

South Africa


Coach of the Year:

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Hugo Broos (Cameroon)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)

National Team of the Year:



Mali U-17


Zambia U-20

Club of the Year:

Al Ahly

Mbabane Swallows

SuperSport United

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year:

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Referee of the Year:

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)

Ghead Grisha (Egypt)

Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)

Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)