Relegation Aftermath: 3SC Release 20 Players

Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) have released 20 players as they come to terms with their relegation from the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) last month.

3SC were relegated alongside ABS FC, Gombe United and Remo Stars and have already started preparing for life in the second tier of Nigerian football (Nigeria National League).

Some of the players released include Samuelson Owono, Tayo Adebogun, Promise Ebiaku, Wasiu Jimoh, Moses James, Wasiu Jimoh, Charles Tambe, and Merenini Junior.

Beach soccer star Abu Azeez has also left the club after his short-term loan spell came to an end last month.

The news of the released players was confirmed by a club statement which said that the said players were released “after evaluating the contributions and performances of every player in the team that got relegated from the Premier League (the Nigeria Professional Football League).”

50% of the club’s 40-man playing personnel made the list of the players retained and they include last season’s top scorer Sunday Faleye, Ajani Ibrahim, Seun Akinyemi, Alaba Osawe, Jide Apena, Najeem Olukokun, Bode Daniel and goalkeepers Michael Uweru and Abubakar Adamu and Michael Uweru.

The club also confirmed that new players would be added to the 20 retained after a thorough screening. “New players will be added to the retained squad after a thorough screening that will be conducted to fill all the necessary positions in the team,” the club statement said.

Players Retained: Omololu Waheed, Jide Apena, Abubakar Adamu, Michael Uweru, Kayode Bankole, Seun Akinyemi, Alaba Osawe, Opeyemi Adetoyi, Oginni Olatubosun, Ayobami Abiodun Jnr, Shile Ibrahim, Sunday Faleye, Abayomi Adebayo, Rafiu Wasiu, Shittu Taiwo, Isiaq Rafiu, Ajani Ibrahim, Najeem Kunle Olukokun, Bode Daniel and Sherrif Sanda.