PSG Secure French League Cup Title With Monaco Thrashing

Paris Saint Germain (PSG) have become the first club to win five successive French League Cup title after they thrashed AS Monaco in their final clash on Saturday night.

Edinson Cavani gave PSG an early opener before Angel Di Maria added a second goal on 21 minutes.

Radamel Falcao pulled one back for Monaco only for the goal to be chalked off following the intervention of the much talked about Video Assistant Referees (VAR) technology.

The in-form Cavani then wrapped up the win for Unai Emery’s side with his brace in the second half as he helped the capital club stay on course for a treble (three trophies).

With the win, PSG are the 1st club to win the trophy five times in a row to make it eight titles in total.