Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa in Contention for Player of the Year Award

NFF Awards

Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Ahmed Musa have all been nominated for the NFF Player of the Year award.

Ighalo scored 21 goals for his former club Changchun Yatai, although his goals couldn’t save them from relegation from the Chinese Super League, the forward who at a time was linked to Barcelona’s later joined Shanghai Shenhua.

The 29-year-old replicated the form for his country, scoring seven goals during their qualifying campaign – the highest from any player in the qualifying series – to ease them into the finals in Egypt.

For Musa, the former Leicester forward delivered a sparkling performance for the Super Eagles at the 2018 World Cup, scoring twice against Iceland to help his side claim their only win at the tournament.

The Al Nassr goal poacher also played a key role in helping the three-time African champions end their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers series on a high, finishing as Group E leaders.

The trio of Galatasaray forward Henry Onyekuru, Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze and Sporting Charleroi striker Victor Osimhen have also been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year.

Asisat Oshoala, Onome Ebi, and Ordega Francisca have been nominated for Women Player of the year award.

The winners will be announced on Monday evening at a gala in Lagos.