NPFL: Sunshine Stars Unveil 24 New Players

Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) side, Sunshine Stars FC have officially unveiled 24 new players for the 2018/19 season.

The Akure based team unveiled 18 newly signed players and promoted six others from their youth team, Rising Stars and Akure City FC, at a ceremony at the Ondo State Sports Complex on Saturday, reports

Among the new signings is former Nasarawa United captain, Seun Sogbesan who is reuniting with coach Kabiru Dogo, Tayo Fabiyi who signed from Enugu Rangers and midfielder, Esosa Igbinoba on an initial one-season deal.

Former Heartland winger, Fuad Ekelojuoti, who already made his debut in Ilorin on matchday one signed a year deal with a renewal clause, while Olalekan Gabriel returned to Sunshine Stars from Rivers United on a contract till the end of the season.

The striking quartet of Barnabas Daniel from Crown FC, former Heartland FC’s man Israel Abia, Peter Ibe (from Cynosure FC) and Chibundu Amah formerly of Wikki Tourists all inked a two-year deal with the Akure Landlords, as well as goalkeeper Ayo Ojo from Osun United.

Others unveiled are Saliu Suleiman, Bassey Akpan, Bolaji Abdulkadir, Funsho Alamoyo, Busayo Gold (returnee), Audu Akeem, Solomon Enudi (former Rising Stars) and Lukman Raji.

Rising Stars’ Kolade Adeniji, younger brother of former Sunshine Stars lethal forward, Tunde Adeniji, Yahaya Alabi, Seyi Ibikunle, Akure City duo of Tosin Akinbobola, and teenage sensation, Ayo Adejubu, were signed on for the new season on long term contracts alongside another homegrown talent, Ayodeji Akinlose.